Tourists targeted in Egypt – New Tactic?


Taba

Egypt: Tourists targeted in bombing in Taba, read full analysis here

A suicide bomber entered a tourist bus near Taba and the Egypt-Israel border, in Egypt’s South Sinai governorate, on 17 February and detonated his explosives. The blast resulted in the deaths of three South Korean tourists and an Egyptian national. A number of other South Korean tourists were also wounded as a result. The attack was later claimed by the Sunni Islamist and al-Qaeda-linked group, Ansar Bayt al-Maqdis (ABM). In a statement claiming responsibility for the attack, the group also stated that ‘With God’s will we will be watching this treacherous gang of infiltrators and we will target their economic interests in all places in order to paralyse their hands from hurting Muslims’. On 18 February, the group also purportedly threatened to target tourists if they did not leave the country by 20 February.

The attack against an overtly tourist target represents a significant development and may point to a new tactic by non-state armed groups in Egypt, who are agitating for the overthrow of the military-backed interim government.

Analysis by Andre Colling, follow him @AndreColling

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , ,

7 thoughts on “Tourists targeted in Egypt – New Tactic?

  1. Have you ever thought about creating an e-book or guest authoring on other sites?
    I have a blog centered on the same topics you discuss and
    would really like to have you share some stories/information.

    I know my viewers would appreciate your work.
    If you are even remotely interested, feel free to send me an e-mail.

  2. Do you mind if I quote a few of your articles as long as I provide
    credit and sources back to your blog? My website is in the exact
    same area of interest as yours and my visitors would truly
    benefit from some of the information you present here.
    Please let me know if this ok with you. Appreciate it!

  3. This paragraph gives clear idea designed for the new visitors of blogging, that actually
    how to do blogging and site-building.

  4. I was curious if you ever considered changing the structure of your blog?

    Its very well written; I love what youve got to say.

    But maybe you could a little more in the way of content so people could connect with
    it better. Youve got an awful lot of text for only having one or two pictures.
    Maybe you could space it out better?

  5. I just like the valuable info you provide in your articles.
    I will bookmark your blog and take a look at
    once more here regularly. I am fairly certain I will be told lots of new stuff right right here!
    Good luck for the next!

  6. I think this is among the most vital info for me.
    And i’m glad reading your article. But wanna remark on few general
    things, The web site style is great, the articles is really great
    : D. Good job, cheers

Leave a Reply

